Skip to content

Hilda Jamieson Biography

Hilda Jamieson

Extract from AFUW-NSW Inc Newsletter 3/94 August 1994
Obituary – Hilda Jamieson B.Sc., Uni. Sydney 1923 – died 12/6/1964.

“Hilda Jamieson was a graduate in science of Sydney University when this discipline attracted few women. She had a strong conviction that those who had received the opportunity for higher education should return, in their vocational and voluntary work, the advantages they had received. Her own involvement was far ranging – the Women’s Army Corps, Rachel Foster Hospital, Frensham School complex, the Council of Meriden School, Strathfield, and the Twilight Homes.

“Hilda Jamieson was a long serving member of the Executive of the NSW Association of Graduate Women. In the mid-1960’s she donated to the Association a capital fund for the Jamieson Prizes, the income to be used for annual awards to women in their final undergraduate year. These prizes were not to be restricted to any specific university or discipline; their primary purpose was to equalise, to some extent, the discrepancy in the newer universities with those of more established endowments; and to encourage innovations in various fields of study – applicants were to be assessed not only upon academic merit but also participation in community activities. As a botanist, her interest was reflected in her magnificent garden.

Extract from “A short history of the Australian Federation of Graduate Women – NSW – Part two 1020-1980” p.18

“Towards the end of 1967 NSW AUWG was notified by Miss Hilda Jamieson, Senior Vice-President of the Association, of her intention to endow a sum of $4,000 to establish a fund from which prizes would be awarded to outstanding women students in their final year at universities within NSW. These awards would differ from those offered at branch level in that applicants for the awards would have to apply directly to the association which would then judge the candidates, rather than prize winners being selected by university authorities. Since its inception in 1968 awards from Miss Jamieson’s fund have been made to graduating students representing the full range of studies available within the state’s six[1]universities.”


Graduate Women International (GWI) and its counterparts here, the Australian Federation of Graduate Women (AFGW) and AFGW NSW, constitute an international association of women graduates, established to support the advancement of women in education and to foster national and international friendship among women graduates world wide.

Jamieson Awardees

The Jamieson Awards have been provided since 1968. A full list of recipients is available upon request.

  1. 1990 – Heather Spence
  2. 1991
  3. 1992
  4. 1993 – Sarah Coventry; Jane Tan; Linda Macks; Julie Madgwick, Theresa Bates
  5. 1994 – Michelle Gleeson and Yvonne Chow
  6. 1995 – Bronwyn Short and Kristin Hammet
  7. 1996 – Janine Burns, Katherine Fagan, Kathryn Pine
  8. 1998 – Ann Elkhoury, Bernadette Davies, Yvette Brockwell, Jane Anderson, Gillian McDonald, Indre Kirsten
  9. 1999 – Bronwyn Elliott; Arlie Loughman; Vanessa MacFarlane; Judith Levine; Giselle Walker
  10. 2000 – Helen Chisholm and Angela Maryska
  11. 2001
  12. 2002
  13. 2003
  14. 2004 – Penelope Crossley, Shan-Lyn Ma and Isabelle Ottley
  15. 2005 – Alexandra Lewis, Joanne Sheehan and Katherine Barry
  16. 2006 – Lauren Burt, Catherine Alston, Isabelle Kremer, Lidia Matesic, Elizabeth O’Donoghue
  17. 2007
  18. 2008 – Katharine Turner, Naomi Oreb, Naomi Hart, Phoebe Williams
  19. 2009 – Helen Machalias & Melissa-Kelly Franklin (University of Sydney)
  20. 2010 – Tarsha Gavin (University of Sydney) + Molly Price Science Prize – Laura Cook (University of NSW)
  21. 2011 – Sophie Liang (University of Sydney)
  22. 2012 – Emma Flannery (Macquarie University)
  23. 2013 – Madeline Kavanagh (University of Sydney)
  24. 2014 – Joint award: Neeranjali Jain, Swaranjali Jain (University of NSW)
  25. 2015 – Zali Fung (University of NSW)
  26. 2016 – Ella Butherine (University of Sydney)
  27. 2017 – Natasha Freidman (University of Sydney)
  28. 2018 – Olivia Grivas (University of Sydney)

[1] Now twelve universities in NSW.